Criminal Defense LawyerLakeland, Tampa, Lutz, FL
863-688-4606
863-688-4606

Defense Attorney for Gun Crimes in Florida

Get the right lawyer to stand up for your rights

Both the U.S. Constitution and the Florida Constitution protect the right to keep and bear arms. However, that right comes with responsibilities. Using a gun or even having a gun in your possession can be a significant factor in many criminal charges, and those laws have significant penalties if you violate them.

If you’ve been charged with a gun crime in Florida, you need the right criminal defense attorney on your side to protect your legal rights. Take your case seriously from the beginning. Talk to Thomas C. Grajek, Attorney at Law about your legal rights and options.

What counts as a gun crime?

While Florida is generally quite accommodating with respect to gun ownership, there are still significant consequences for those who use guns for illegal purposes. Many criminal charges involve either having a gun without authorization or using a gun in the commission of another crime. Some of the most common gun-related charges in Florida include:

  • Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon
  • Carrying a concealed firearm without a permit
  • Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon
  • Aggravated battery with a deadly weapon
  • Armed burglary
  • Armed trespassing
  • Armed kidnapping
  • Armed robbery
  • Armed possession of illegal drugs
  • Armed trafficking in illegal drugs
  • Improper exhibition of a firearm or deadly weapon
  • Shooting deadly missiles

Florida’s laws for crimes that specifically involve firearms and other weapons include:

Improper Exhibition of a Firearm or Weapon. This occurs when a person has or carries a dagger, sword, sword cane, firearm, electric weapon or device, or other weapons in the presence of one or more people, and displays rude, careless, angry, or threatening manners, not in necessary self-defense. This is a first-degree misdemeanor that carries consequences of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $1,000.

Discharging a Firearm in Public. This occurs when any person knowingly and recklessly discharges a firearm in a public place or on the right-of-way of any paved public road, highway, or street, or street or over any occupied premises. This is a first-degree misdemeanor that carries consequences of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $1,000.

Unlicensed Carrying a Concealed Firearm. This occurs when a person is not licensed carries a concealed firearm on or about his or her person. This is a third-degree felony that carries consequences of up to 5 years in prison and fines of up to $5,000.

Unlicensed Carrying a Concealed Weapon. This occurs when a person is not licensed to carry a concealed, electric weapon or device on or about his or her person. This is a first-degree misdemeanor that carries consequences of up to 1 year in jail and fines of up to $1,000.

If you’re charged with a gun crime, you need a skilled defense attorney

Florida law takes a dim view of people who use firearms in the commission of a crime, and those laws can sometimes harm otherwise responsible gun owners who end up in a bad situation. Prosecutors take gun charges very seriously, and you’re in for a fight if you want to get your charges dropped or win a Not Guilty verdict at trial.

That’s why you need to talk to a gun crime defense attorney as soon as possible. The clock starts ticking when you’re arrested, and you need to take prompt legal action to protect your rights. If you’re facing gun charges in Polk County, call or use the online contact form to get in touch with an experienced lawyer today.

Free Consultation Click Here