On Friday an Opa-Locka police lieutenant was involved in an accident. The police officer is now facing drunken driving charges after crashing into another vehicle. The Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) is alleging that the officer rear-ended a car with his unmarked police vehicle. FHP's DUI report alleges that the arrested police officer had slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, and there was an odor of alcohol. FHP said he failed the field sobriety test and refused to submit to a breath test.
INTERESTING THAT ALMOST EVERY TIME A POLICE OFFICER IS ARRESTED,
THE OFFICER REFUSES TO SUBMIT TO A BREATH TEST!!!
Why is that? Because the officer does not trust the machine? The officer does not want to give untrustworthy evidence to the police or prosecutor? Is it because the DUI penalties are increased if the driver blows over 0.15? Because it could result in an interlock ignition device being placed on a vehicle if the blow is over 0.15?
In addition, under Florida DUI statute 316.193 (3), any person who causes property damage or personal injury to another while driving under the influence is guilty of a First Degree Misdemeanor which increases the penalty to a fine of not more than $1,000 and 1-year imprisonment.
If you have been arrested for DUI, hire an attorney that is a member of the National College for DUI Defense (NCDD) and knows how to defend a DUI case!
TIME MATTERS IN A DUI - DON'T HESITATE!!!
Because you only have 10 days to request a Formal Review or get a hardship license!
CALL POLK COUNTY DUI ATTORNEY THOMAS C. GRAJEK NOW!!!