Make sure you received a copy of the DUI citation in your case!!!
IT SERVES AS YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE FOR 10 DAYS!!!!
When a person is arrested for Driving Under the Influence, the DUI officer seizes the license. The citation serves as your driver’s license so that you can make arrangements to sign up for a Formal Review, fight the suspension of your license, and get your affairs in order before the unlawful breath alcohol level or refusal suspension begins.
Look at the bottom of the DUI ticket. That is where the “Notice of Suspension” is located. There are 2 boxes there, one for having a breath test level of 0.08 or higher on the Intoxilyzer 8000 (Florida’s current Breath Test machine), the other for refusing to take the breath test.
The DUI ticket serves as your notice of suspension under Florida DUI law.
1st unlawful breath test results in a 6 month suspension of your license
2nd time being arrested for DUI and having an unlawful breath test on the Intoxilyzer results in a 1 year suspension of your driving privileges.
1st refusal to take the breath test results in a 1 year suspension of your license.
2nd refusal to take a breath test results in an 18 month suspension of your license.
You can sign up for a Formal review and fight these DUI suspensions. It costs $25.00 to request a hearing.
MOST DRIVERS WILL RECEIVE A TEMPORARY LICENSE AUTOMATICALLY
WHEN THE DRIVER ARRESTED FOR DUI REQUESTS THE HEARING.
KEEP DRIVING UNTIL A FINAL DECISION IS MADE WHETHER TO SUSTAIN OR INVALIDATE THE SUSPENSION.
Call and talk to Thomas C. Grajek, an experienced DUI attorney in Polk County today! I can help you fill out the forms, get them to the DHSMV, and keep you driving.
PROTECT YOUR RIGHTS!!! CALL NOW !!! 863-688-4606