If you have recently been involved in an accident in Florida, there are several different aspects to your case that you should be familiar with immediately when it comes to filing your claim. Every state uses a term known as the statute of limitations, which means the official time limit under which you must file your personal injury lawsuit to be able to recover compensation. This car accident claim time limit means that your case could be dismissed if you do not file within the appropriate time frame.
Filing A Car Accident Claim
Filing a car accident claim should happen with your insurance company as soon as possible after you have been involved in an accident. Your car accident insurance claim might not be the end of your case as you might not agree with the insurance company's valuation of your settlement.
Your first stop in your injury claim is to contact your insurance company, but it might not be where your claim ends. If the insurance company cannot pay out the full benefits you need, you will have to turn to a third-party liability suit for additional coverage.
Car Accident Statute of Limitations
Your car accident statute of limitations in Florida is a maximum of four years from the date of the accident in question. It is also important to recognize that filing a car accident claim in Florida requires that you have suffered a serious injury that extends beyond the abilities of your own insurance company. This means that you have sustained permanent injuries, significant or permanent loss of a body function or significant or permanent scarring or disfigurement.
Even in the event that your injury qualifies as serious but does not meet the statute of limitations, your case could be dismissed. In rare cases a judge might choose to extend the deadline, but it is more often than not the case that you will need to file your car accident claim sooner rather than later. This is the best way to protect your right to compensation.
When to Hire A Personal Injury Attorney?
Immediately after you have been injured and obtain medical treatment, you should retain a personal injury attorney in Florida. A personal injury lawyer in Florida can help guide you through the process of recovering compensation to prepare you for what to expect as it relates to your own insurance company and other involved stakeholders.
Contact Thomas Grajek For Personal Injury Representation in Florida
You deserve to know the stakes involved in your case and to have an experienced and dedicated attorney who will work harder on your behalf from the moment that you hire him or her. Florida personal injury lawyer, Thomas Grajek, has been there for many years for patients who have suffered serious injuries in Florida car accidents.
Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents in Florida FAQ
How long after a car accident can I sue in Florida?
As mentioned above, you have a maximum of 4 years from the date of the accident itself to be able to bring a lawsuit against the responsible party. It is in your best interests to file sooner than that point since some of these cases can take months or even years to move through the court system.
What is the statute of limitations in the state of Florida?
The statute of limitations for personal injury incidents, such as car accidents is 4 years from the date of the incident itself.
How long is the statute of limitations on a car accident?
Your statute of limitations will depend in the individual state in which you have sustained injuries. Each state has their own laws associated with personal injury and outlines a maximum time frame for filing a lawsuit and recovering compensation.