If you are caught shoplifting or stealing in Polk County, it is a very serious criminal offense. As you can see by the picture, Sheriff Grady Judd and Jerry Hill, the State Attorney for the Tenth Judicial Circuit take this crime very seriously. Not only do the authorities take it seriously, but so do employers.
Do I Need a Lawyer for Shoplifting?
We all make mistakes and do things without thinking. Often, that’s what happens when someone shoplifts or steals from a retailer such as Wal-Mart. The crime can be Petit Theft, Grand Theft, or Felony Petit Theft depending on the value of the goods stolen. Shoplifting can be a 2nd degree misdemeanor to a felony. That means penalties start at a maximum of 60 days in jail for a first time offender who steals good valued at less than $100.00 to prison time.
I get a lot of calls from people who are convicted of Petit Theft who tell me they can not get hired due to the background check the potential employer conducts. You need to protect your record and retain a criminal defense lawyer before you go to court. You may qualify for a diversion program that can result in the theft charges dropped. This would allow you to start expunging your record immediately. If you do not qualify for a Polk County diversion program, you may still be able to resolve your case and remain eligible to seal your record. Sealing or expunging your record will remove your picture (mugshot) from the Polk County Sheriff’s website and clean up background searches run on your name.
You may also have a defense to the crime of shoplifting. In this hectic day and age with kids running around, cell phones, and other distractions, sometime people just forget they had merchandise at the bottom of their shopping cart. This means you never had the intent to commit theft and would be a defense to the criminal charge.
Protect your reputation and good name against background searches! Call me now to learn about defenses and options to resolve your Petit Theft or Shoplifting case.
CALL AND SET YOUR FREE OFFICE CONSULTATION NOW!
You will not have to drive to another county. Office - Lakeland, Polk County.
Thomas C. Grajek 863-688-4606
Polk County criminal defense lawyer handling all felony and misdemeanor theft cases including scheme to Defraud, Grand Theft, Petit Theft, Petty Theft, and Shoplifting.
how much does a lawyer cost for a shoplifting case?
The cost of hiring an attorney for a shoplifting case will vary. It depends mostly on the rates that each firm charges. The complexity of the case can also play a role. But most shoplifting cases are simple, so the cost is not likely to be high. Your attorney will give you an estimate of the costs if you ask them.
How long does a shoplifting case take?
In Florida, those accused of a misdemeanor are entitled to a speedy trial. That means that their cases need to be heard within 90 days from the date of arrest. Shoplifting is usually a misdemeanor, so the speedy trial regulations apply. But if the goods that were stolen are worth more than $300 it will be treated as a felony. In which case, you may have to wait up to 175 days to go to trial.
Can you go to jail for shoplifting if it's your first offense?
It is possible to go to jail for a shoplifting first offense. If you steal things that have a high value, in Florida, over $300 you can be charged with a felony. In which case, a jail sentence is a possibility even if it is your first offense.